Mon, Jun 14 | Crowdcast

Author Talk: Alexis Nedd, Don't Hate the Player

Perfect for fans of Opposite of Always comes a funny and heartfelt feminist YA debut set in the world of competitive gaming. Register Here: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/alexis-nedd-dont-hate.
Registration is Closed
Author Talk: Alexis Nedd, Don't Hate the Player

Time & Location

Jun 14, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM EDT
Crowdcast

About the Event

Register for the Event.

About the Book:

Perfect for fans of Opposite of Always comes a funny and heartfelt feminist YA debut set in the world of competitive gaming.

By day, Emilia is a field hockey star with a popular boyfriend and a mother obsessed with her academic future. But by night, she’s kicking virtual ass as the only female member of a highly competitive eSports team. Emilia has mastered the art of keeping her two worlds thriving, which hinges on them staying completely separate.

 When a major eSports tournament comes to her city, Emilia is determined to prove herself to the male-dominated gaming community. But her perfectly balanced life is thrown for a loop when a member of a rival team—Jake—recognizes her . . . From an exciting new talent, this sweet and charming YA romance will win the hearts of gamers and non-gamers alike.

About the Author:

Alexis Nedd is a Brooklyn-based pop culture "fanthropologist" who has only ever loved things in a big, obsessive way. As the Senior Entertainment Reporter at Mashable.com, she covers television, movies, and video games with a focus on sci-fi and fantasy universes. When she’s not writing for money, she’s writing for no money on Twitter, where her feed consists of deep dives on weird history (Hamilton and messed-up royal lineages are favorites) and analyzing pop culture as an artifact of society. Her threads regularly receive comments from people in the media like Lin-Manuel Miranda, and her writing has also appeared in Elle, Cosmopolitan, Marie Claire, and BuzzFeed. This is her debut novel. @alexisthenedd

About the Conversation Partner:

Alanna Bennett is a screenwriter in film and TV, having written previously for “Roswell, New Mexico.” Her culture writing has appeared in BuzzFeed, The New York Times, Teen Vogue, Eater and more.

Registration is Closed

Share This Event