Mon, Oct 11 | Crowdcast

Author Talk: Greedy | Jen Winston in conversation with Blair Imani

A hilarious and whip-smart collection of essays, offering an intimate look at bisexuality, gender, and, of course, sex. Perfect for fans of Lindy West, Samantha Irby, and Rebecca Solnit—and anyone who wants, and deserves, to be seen.
Registration is Closed
Author Talk: Greedy | Jen Winston in conversation with Blair Imani

Time & Location

Oct 11, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM EDT
Crowdcast

About the Event

A hilarious and whip-smart collection of essays, offering an intimate look at bisexuality, gender, and, of course, sex. Perfect for fans of Lindy West, Samantha Irby, and Rebecca Solnit—and anyone who wants, and deserves, to be seen.

If Jen Winston knows one thing for sure, it’s that she’s bisexual. Or wait—maybe she isn’t? Actually, she definitely is. Unless…she’s not?

Jen’s provocative, laugh-out-loud debut takes us inside her journey of self-discovery, leading us through stories of a childhood “girl crush,” an onerous quest to have a threesome, and an enduring fear of being bad at sex. Greedy follows Jen’s attempts to make sense of herself as she explores the role of the male gaze, what it means to be “queer enough,” and how to overcome bi stereotypes when you’re the posterchild for all of them: greedy, slutty, and constantly confused.

With her clever voice and clear-eyed insight, Jen draws on personal experiences with sexism and biphobia to understand how we all can and must do better. She sheds light on the reasons women, queer people, and other marginalized groups tend to make ourselves smaller, provoking the question: What would happen if we suddenly stopped?

Greedy shows us that being bisexual is about so much more than who you’re sleeping with—it’s about finding stability in a state of flux and defining yourself on your own terms. This book inspires us to rethink the world as we know it, reminding us that Greedy was a superpower all along.

--

Jen Winston (she/they) is a writer, creative director, and bisexual. Their work bridges the intersection of sex, politics, and technology, and has been featured in the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, on CNN, and more. Jen is passionate about unlearning and creating work that helps others do the same. She lives in Brooklyn with her partner, dogs, and iPhone. Follow Jen on Twitter and Instagram: @Jenerous.

Blair Imani is an author, educator, and influencer. She is the author of the Read This To Get Smarter, Making Our Way Home, and Modern HERstory.  Her scholarship spans intersectionality, gender studies, race and racism, sociology, and United States history. She has presented at universities including Oxford, Stanford, Harvard, Duke, and many more. She serves on the Board of Directors for the Tegan and Sara Foundation, and on the Board of Trustees for Muslims for Progressive Values. The New York Times praises Blair Imani’s unique ability to create “progressive lessons with vibrant visuals and a perky, quirky delivery.” She was named to the Root 100 in 2019 and OUT 100 in 2018. She lives in Los Angeles, California.

Her work centers women and girls, global Black communities, and the LGBTQ community. As an educator and influencer, semi-retired organizer, and public speaker, Blair Imani is dedicated to making the world a better place and amplifying the voices and work of those fighting the good fight. Learn more about Blair Imani by visiting blairimani.com and joining her on social media @blairimani.

Registration is Closed

Share This Event